Musings in Dublin

Browsing through my word document files, I came across this short extract that I had begun to write in regards to my trip to Dublin. I contemplated for a while finishing off this blog post now (a month later ) but finally I decided that to do so would be to lose the original sentiment I felt at this particular moment in time, and would result in me trying to recreate a feeling I am not currently experiencing. Therefore I’ve included this train of thought, untouched as it is because I feel like it’s one of the rare moments that I’ve expressed contentment on my blog:

Reading over my last few blog posts, I’ve come to realise that my last posts have all had a pervading tone of subtle pessimism and that’s perhaps because I’ve only been compelled to write under the pretext of discouraging circumstances. Today I write from that rare point of contentment, which almost appears to touch the divine.

Sitting in St Stephens park in Dublin, immersed in nature, I can’t help but bask in the feeling of peace and tranquillity. I look around me and I’m surrounded by a bunch of misfit couples from teenagers to older men sitting and talking and amongst all these murmurs of conversations in the background, I can feel the quiet din of humanity and peace.

Dublin is one of the friendliest and welcoming cities I’ve visited; from the live bus tours to the air bnb we stayed in, everyone went over and beyond to make us feel welcome. It always seemed like free individuals want to share their freedom and contentment with others.

The little acts of kindness I experienced reminded me that humanity isn’t as close to extinction as I sometimes lead myself to believe. On the plane journey there, I was sitting next to a woman with her baby in her lap, sandwiched inbetween the aisle and window sit. When I offered to swap seats with her, for her convenience, she looked at me as if I had just offered to give up my heart for a heart transplant. Kindness is sometimes seen as such a rare virtue that even when the simplest of acts are expressed, it seems like such a strange and foreign concept.

I may not have found the leprechaun or pot of gold at the end of the rainbow, but the undying glimpse of humanity I saw is worth 10x any pot of gold.

Leave a Reply

